Troop 19, Berkeley CA



Scouts advance in rank through experiential learning and practice. Troop 19 provides the support and encouragement they need and want to build skills, character, and leadership. 


Rank Awards

Scouts advance through six ranks before becoming eligible for Eagle Scout, the highest rank attainable in Boy Scouts. These ranks are Scout, Tenderfoot, Second Class, First Class, Star, and Life. The requirements for all ranks are listed in the Boy Scout Handbook.

Once the First Class Rank is attained, Scouts must earn specified merit badges and serve in a position of leadership in order to advance to the next rank, as they continue on the Trail to Eagle.


Merit Badges

Merit badges are a series of awards through which Scouts gain skills and learn theory, safety, and practice. They cover a wide range of topics, including the outdoors, sports, crafts, science, trades, and business. There are more than 135 merit badges, 21 of which are required for Eagle Scout rank. Scouts can earn any of these at any time.

Scouts earn these awards with the help of Merit Badge Counselors. In Troop 19, parents frequently serve in this role. Parents learn badge requirements and guide scouts through the steps of meeting the requirements, Being a Merit Badge Counselor is a fun way to get to know the Scouts and play a significant role in their growth and development.

Merit Badges are also earned at summer camp. Motivated Scouts can earn three to five–or even more–merit badges during a week at Wolfeboro.

Learn more about merit badges here.


Special Achievements

Scouting offers countless opportunities for character development, citizenship training, and mental and physical fitness. There are opportunities for Scout training and achievement recognition, including STEM-based programs, axe and knife safety, watercraft use, and religious faith. Interested Scouts should consult with the Scoutmaster to discuss their interests and chart a plan.